Friday Letter Home
Submit Article Subscribe Unsubscribe  
  APRIL 12, 2013
ASPH-member Deans Sign Declaration of Polio Eradication

Thirty deans of CEPH-accredited, ASPH-member Schools of Public Health joined hundreds of scientists, doctors, and technical experts from around the world to launch the Scientific Declaration on Polio Eradication on April 11, 2013.


Today, the world is closer than ever to eradicating polio, with just 223 cases in five countries last year. To capitalize on this time-limited opportunity to finally end the disease, a wide range of experts have signed the declaration to emphasize the achievability of polio eradication and endorse the Eradication and Endgame Strategic Plan, a new strategy by the Global Polio Eradication Initiative (GPEI) to reach the end of polio by 2018.

The scientists and experts signing the declaration come from more than 75 countries and include Nobel laureates, vaccine and infectious disease experts, Schools of Public Health deans, pediatricians and other health authorities. For additional information about the Scientific Declaration or to view a full list of signatories, please visit the Emory Vaccine Center Website.

At publication, the following deans had signed the Scientific Declaration on Polio Eradication:

  • Dean Barbara Rimer  (UNC)
  • Dean Craig Blakely (Louisville)
  • Dean David Goff (Colorado)
  • Dean Donald Burke (Pittsburgh)
  • Dean Donna Petersen (South Florida)          
  • Dean Edwin Trevathan (Saint Louis)
  • Dean Elizabeth Fontham (LSU)
  • Dean George Rhoads (UMDNJ)       
  • Dean Howard Frumkin (Washington)
  • Dean James Curran (Emory)
  • Dean Jody Heymann (UCLA)
  • Dean John Finnegan (Minnesota)
  • Dean Jose Cordero (Puerto Rico)
  • Dean Julio Frenk (Harvard)
  • Dean Linda Fried (Columbia)
  • Dean Lynn Goldman (GW)
  • Dean Marla Gold (Drexel)
  • Dean Martin Philbert (Michigan)
  • Dean Mauricio Hernandez-Avila (INSP Mexico)
  • Dean Michael Klag (Johns Hopkins)
  • Dean Pascal Imperato (SUNY Downstate)
  • Dean Paul Brandt-Rauf (UIC)
  • Dean Paul Cleary (Yale)
  • Dean Paul Halverson (IUPUI, appointment begins May 15)
  • Dean Philip Nasca (SUNY Albany)
  • Dean Phillip Williams (Georgia)
  • Dean Pierre Buekens (Tulane)
  • Dean Sonia Alemagno (Kent State)
  • Dean Stephen Shortell (Berkeley)
  • Dean Tammy Bray (Oregon)